Header Ads

Header ADS

The 74th General Assembly of the Independent Church of India concludes: Ordination of 8 Pastors and Key Highlights

The 74th General Assembly of the Independent Church of India, held at Mizoram’s Sakawrdai, concluded with the ordination of 8 Pastors, granting pensions to 4 individuals, and providing 3 medical pensions. The General Assembly took place from December 5th to 10th, 2023, under the theme “The Second Coming of Jesus Christ” (1 Thessalonians 4:16).

The event was attended by 268 delegates from 15 Presbyteries, 9 Mission Fields, 2 City Churches, and various Departments. A commemoration service was held for Rev. Rosung Sinate and Rev. Zothanglien, who passed away in 2023. Additionally, the Assembly announced the theme for 2024 as “Behold, I am coming soon” (Revelations 22:12) and conducted Secretariat elections for the term 2024-2026.

Rev. Lalneikhup Hmar was elected as the new Executive Secretary, while Rev. Dr. James R. Ruolngul became the Secretary for Ministry, Rev. J. Thanglur as Secretary for Mission, and Rev. Lalhmingthang took on the role of Secretary for Finance & Development, appointed by the Executive Council.

The incumbent Moderator, Elder Dr. HL Liensang, handed over the Moderator's charge to the current Vice Moderator, Rev. Dr. JL Songate. Rev. HB Hluothang was elected as the Vice Moderator for the year 2024.

The 2023 General Assembly marked the celebration of the 100th anniversary of Independent Kohran Hla Bu, initiated under the ICI Assembly Musical Board. The centenary edition of the Independent Kohran Hla Bu was released by Rev. Lalneikhup Hmar, Secretary for Ministries & Education. Hard copies of the Independent Kohran Hla Bu will be available at Christian Books & Stationeries, ICI Secretariat, Sielmat.

Throughout the event, there were two sittings of the Executive Council, two days of General Assembly business sessions, and a one-day business session for the Assembly Musical Board.

Speakers at the General Assembly included Rev. Lalrohlu (Evangelist At Large), Rev. Laldinglien (Jinam Valley Presbytery Secretary), Rev. J. Thanglur (Secretary, Missions), Rev. Zathangsing Zate (Secretary, Finance & Development), and Upa Dr. H.L Liensang (Outgoing Moderator), who delivered gospel messages. Choirs such as the ICI Central Choir, Assam Hills Presbytery Choir, Aizawl Presbytery Choir, Hmarphei Presbytery Choir, and Serlui Presbytery Choir presented songs of praise during worship events.

Following the worship service, a singing festival took place on the church’s premises, during which a donation box for the construction of Tuolbung and Ratu church buildings was also set up.

The Pro Pastors, Lecturers, and Missionaries ordained by the 74th General Assembly are Aylwin Rambuotsai Tusing, H.D. Ramtharlawm, James Lawrence Darngawn, Jonathan F Tusing, Spurgeon Hmar, Timothe H. Pulamte, Ramhluothang Inbuon, and Johny Laldinthar F Tusing.

The General Assembly also granted pensions to 4 servants of the Lord: Rev. Lalrokhawm (NTK Mission Field), Evan. Ramfangzau (Assam Mission Field), Evan. L.V. Parkung (Assam Mission Field), and Ms. Sailienthang (ICI Secretariat). It discharged 3 workers, granting them Medical Pensions: Pastor Thangroliana (Tuithaphai Presbytery), Mr. S. Daniel Lalringnghet (Hmarbiel South Presbytery), and Evan. Lalropui Khawbung (NTK Mission Field).

The next General Assembly of Independent Kohran, which will also be its 75th (Platinum celebration), will be held at its HQ church, Roberts Jubilee Chapel. (Documenting Team)

No comments

Powered by Blogger.